Letters to the President

Since George Washington took office in 1783, writing letters to the President has provided citizens of all ages, races, political parties, and backgrounds an outlet to express their most personal concerns, hopes, and dreams. Letters to the President reimagines this archival canon of letters as a multi-composer song cycle, with each song inspired by an individual letter in the archive. Featuring historical letters from the National Archives and spanning topics including, Western expansion, World Wars I and II, space exploration, and the Civil Right Movement, Letters to the President offers a powerful look at American dream, setting the White House’s most memorable mail to song.

 Location: The Great Hall at Cooper Union

Creative Team: conceived by director Michael Bello (We Are The Tigers, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical) and dramaturg Jessica Kahkoska (Discount Ghost Stories, Agent 355).


  • Emily Gardner Xu Hall (2019 Jonathan Larson Grant, Untitled Cherry Orchard Musical, I am This for You)

  • Ben Wexler (2019 Jonathan Larson Grant, Washington Square, The Orchestra)

  • Anna K. Jacobs (POP!, Teeth, Harmony, Kansas)

  • Dawn Avery (Ajijaak on Turtle Island at the New Victory Theatre, GRAMMY and NAMA nominee)

  • Elliah Heifetz (Dust Can't Kill Me, WILDWOOD)

  • The Lobbyists (SeaWife, Drama Desk nomination)

  • Madeline Myers (Masterpiece, The Starry Messenger, The Devil's Apprentice)

  • Mark Sonnenblick (Midnight at The Never Get, Independents, Jonathan Larson Grant)

  • Naomi Matlow & Teresa Lotz (ThreeTimesFast)

  • Nick Blaemire (Glory Days, A Little More Alive)

  • Preston Max Allen (We Are the Tigers, Agent 355)

  • Zack Zadek (Deathless)

  • Rona Siddiqui (Salaam Medina: Tales of a Halfghan, One Good Day)

  • Ronvé O'Daniel & Jevares Myrick (Once Upon a Rhyme, the New Girl, Greenwood)

  • Simone Allen (Octet, The Cher Show, Folk Wandering)

  • Alexander Sage Oyen (Diva: Live From Hell, Archie's Final Project)

  • Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott (The Circle and the Wheel, Imagine Harry, Wintersong)

Photo Credit: Marget Long, The Cooper Union 2019 

Sara DeViney